Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

What Is Love?

leave a comment »

As I was writing Christmas cards to my nephews, I was stuck trying to tell them why I loved them. Which then got me wondering, what is love?

I don’t love them for anything they do or don’t do. I don’t love them for the way they look or don’t look. I don’t even love them for what they believe in or don’t believe them. I love them simply because they are alive and I can’t imagine having to live without them. But how do I say that in a Christmas card?

Karma

With everything in the news, and all of the debates I’ve been having with friends, I was reminded about the ultimate justice: karma. It is the greatest equalizer when it comes to injustice.

And while karma may take care of past wrongs, a quote from the series finale of the Newsroom seemed relevant to the protests that are currently taking place, “We just decided to.” The movements may not help the people who have already lost their lives, but they just might help someone tomorrow.

So here’s to the players from the:

St Louis Rams: Davin Joseph, Stedman Bailey, Tavon Austin, Jared Cook, Chris Givens, and Kenny Britt

Cleveland Browns: Johnson Bademosi, Andrew Hawkins

Cleveland Cavaliers: LeBron James & Kyrie Irving

Detroit Lions: Reggie Bush

Knox College: Ariyana Smith

University of Maryland: Deon Long

Chicago Bulls: Derrick Rose

Brooklyn Nets

LA Lakers

Georgetown Hoyas

Here’s hoping that in 2015 we are able to turn the page and honor those who have unjustly lost their lives by holding those guilty accountable for their actions.

Jon Stewart - law enforcement

 

 

 

 

Written by rachel

December 15, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

