Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Lonely

leave a comment »

Despite what society and the movies have told me, it has never occurred to me that not getting married is the same as being lonely.

Growing up I assumed that I would meet someone, fall in love, and get married but, as the years went by, I ended up being the bridesmaid and never the bride. And while I sometimes thought it would be nice to have a plus one, I never felt like there was anything lacking in my life.

What bothers me the most is that finding happiness as a party of 1 is not socially acceptable. It’s not overtly condemned, but there’s a feeling just below the surface that if you’re not searching for someone, even if it’s just for a temporary fix, you are an oddity because true happiness can only be found if you’re part of a couple.

As someone who prefers to be alone, I find the notion that you need someone else to be happy odd. It’s also slightly offensive since I believe that you have to be happy with yourself before you can be happy with anyone else. If someone else is responsible for my happiness that means they can take it away. And that is not what I want. I want to own my happiness so that I can share it with, instead of get it from, other people.

My only point to this rant is that I’m tired of hearing that being alone is a sad, lonely place. I’ve never felt sad or lonely because I was on my own. If anything, it made me feel independent and free.

 

 

Written by rachel

September 7, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Posted in Life, Rants

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

