Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

With Love

leave a comment »

With both Father’s Day and Graduation at the top of my mind, I realized something.  It is not time that has helped healed the hurt and heartache I’ve felt since losing my dad.  It is becoming an aunt that has healed me.

Time has let me learn how to breathe and live with the emptiness, but the emptiness I felt when I lost my dad has been filled with the love I have for my nephews.  They have helped me find my heart and, with each moment I spend with them, my ache has been replaced with love.  I don’t know why it has taken me twenty-six years to realize this, but as I got to spend the afternoon with Travis, all I felt was love and happiness.  For the first Father’s Day that I can remember, I am filled with more love than emptiness.

My heartache isn’t gone, but it is no longer the only thing I can feel.  The tears I shed today are not just for the sadness for losing my dad, but also for the happiness in being an aunt.

 

Written by rachel

June 15, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

