Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Weighing In

leave a comment »

Today I did the unthinkable.  I bought a scale.

My plan wasn’t to buy a scale, it was to find one an in-store tester that I could use for free.  However, the store had other ideas.  There weren’t any testers available and the most basic scale was on sale for $8.99, so I took the plunge and made the purchase.

The drive home was exceptionally long and trying, which meant that I had extra time to contemplate what number might pop up once I made the stand.  I had a number that I thought I’d see and a number that I wanted to see, but I wasn’t sure how realistic either of them were since I have avoided scales as much as possible for the past 20 years.

When I finally arrived home, I hung up my coat, took off my boots, and opened the scale.  After setting it down on a flat, hard surface, I calibrated it as per the directions.  Then I took a deep breath, and stepped on.

It landed on the number I wanted to see.

More than happiness, I felt encouraged.  That number confirmed that I have been on the track, am on the right track, and should stay on this track.  I don’t expect the number to get much smaller, so I’ll have to incorporate some form of physical activity into my life to see additional changes, but for the first time in a long time, I feel like myself.

 

 

 

Written by rachel

March 25, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

