Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

What Is Love?

leave a comment »

In his song, Haddaway asks, “What is love?” before proclaiming, “Baby, don’t hurt me.”

An Act of True Love

A couple of weekends ago, I saw the movie Frozen.  I had heard it was great, but was unprepared for just how much I liked it.

What I liked best was that, unlike in other Disney movies, the act of true love wasn’t a male hero rescuing a damsel in distress.  It was sister saving sister.  It was modern, and sweet, and very touching.  The message was just as important for little boys as it is for little girls.

Unconditional Love

There are so many different kinds of love but as a general rule I have always believed that the love between a family is as close to unconditional love as it gets.  I was wrong.

Saturday started with a text from my sister-in-law that my nephew had come out to my brother and my brother’s reaction threatened to tear the family apart.  He was not open or accepting of this news from my nephew and my sister-in-law was preparing for the worst, which meant leaving my brother.  She wanted me to talk to him to see what I could do.

Except, I just couldn’t bring myself to call him.  I was devastated, mad, and ashamed. I did not want to believe that I could be related to someone who cared about sexual orientation, let alone could pass judgment on his son.  I didn’t know what I would say to him without making him mad, hurting him, and driving him farther away from where I wanted him to be.

My sister-in-law’s family had an intervention with my brother and things are ok, for now.  My brother still needs to talk to my nephew.  I’m hoping that he will call me after they talk, and that I will then know what to say.

Written by rachel

March 3, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

