Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

In The Moment

leave a comment »

I often hear that I should try to live in the moment more. Be present in what’s going on, in what I’m doing.  But today I realized just how hard that is to do because I spend so much time preparing for what’s coming next.  And it’s not even the big things. It’s little things:

  • Preparing food for the week
  • Doing laundry so that I have clean clothes
  • Paying the electric bill so that I have light tomorrow
  • Planning the next vacation

The list, just like the chores, feels never ending and repetitive.  It also makes me feel like the greatest joy as an adult may be in the planning of what’s coming next.

24

In order to get ready for the upcoming season of 24: Live Another Day, I’ve been watching all of the previous seasons of 24.  So far, I’m almost through Season 3.  Until I started re-watching the show, I hadn’t realized just how much I missed it.  There are some great shows on the air right now, but nothing is quite like 24.

Mourning

This upcoming May will mark the 26th year since my dad passed away.  Over the years, I’ve read many, many articles and books and internet postings on loss and grief.  This post, Being Motherless: Reflections After a Year, is probably the best thing I’ve read about loss. I wish I could have read it 25 years ago.  My favorite part:

My grief is made of irreparable loss…If I learned anything, it is that no one can be prepared for a major death, and time can’t fix everything. All time does is allow you to find a way to accommodate grief, like a sudden and permanent limp that doesn’t stop you completely but will forever alter the way you move through the world.”

Valentine’s Day

I love the online reaction of people to Valentine’s Day. Some love, some hate it, and some want everyone to just shut up about it.  I enjoy it since St. Valentine was the saint I choose for my confirmation.  And, while I never get too mushy in real life, it’s never a bad idea to express how much you care about someone else, regardless of what prompts you to act.

So in honor of such a lovely holiday, here are a couple of songs that I enjoyed listening to:

Written by rachel

February 16, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Leave a Reply

