Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

The Seahawks’ Dream

leave a comment »

Martin Luther King, Jr probably didn’t have the Seattle Seahawks in mind when he said, “I have a dream,” but on the day that we are celebrating him this year, I can’t help but think about the Seattle Seahawks.

Perhaps it’s because the Seahawks just beat the San Francisco 49ers yesterday to advance to the Super Bowl.

Perhaps it’s because the sports news has been dominated by reaction to Richard Sherman’s post-game interview.

Or perhaps it’s because deep down inside, after this amazing season, I was waiting for the other shoe to drop.

From the highs of beating San Francisco in week 2 to the lows of losing to Arizona at home in week 16, it’s hard to imagine the amount of hope and excitement this team has generated.  It’s not just one player; it’s the team, the coaches, the staff, the city, the state, the region.

And for this fan, I remember how I first fell in love with football.  Watching the games in the basement on a little tv by myself, never dreaming that I could one day attend a professional game, let alone the Divisional & Conference rounds as a season ticketholder.  I had many words while watching the game, but only overwhelming joy comes to mine as I think about the experience of attending both games.

I may not have a crystal ball that will tell me who will win the Super Bowl, but it’s enough for me to know that on February 2nd, I will be watching my team play in the game.  I will be nervous and anxious and may take a week to recover if they lose, but as long as my heart stays strong, I am sure they will hear my voice and feel my love from Seattle all the way in New Jersey.

#GoHawks

 

 

Written by rachel

January 21, 2014 at 12:33 am

Leave a Reply

