Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Love, In A Dream

leave a comment »

I woke up this morning to the sound of my alarm clock and some very unsettling memories that I soon realized were the result of a very active night of dreaming.  Knowing that they were just from a dream helps, but the visions still have not left me.  Here’s what happened:

I married my director, moved in, and then found out he had a son.  His son was developmentally disabled and my new husband was afraid that I wouldn’t love him if I knew about his son, so he hid him from me.  While he loved his son, he was afraid that people who loved him would not extend their love to his son, so he did his best to keep him hidden, which included making him sleep in the car.

The other twist in my dream was that my sister-in-law and my nephews lived in the same house as my new husband.  She knew about his son and hated having to take care of him and feed him, and help him in any sort of way. My nephews didn’t even know who he was.

The breaking point for me came when I discovered his son, in the car, cold and in need of care.  I mostly just remember yelling and screaming and then my new husband was driving us to the hospital.

This experience opened my new husband’s eyes and he went out a bought him and his son matching pajamas and blankets.  He felt relieved that he didn’t have to keep his son hidden from me, but was still extremely guarded about sharing him with anyone else.

Upon our return home, I introduced his son to my nephews who immediately took him under their wing.  Unfortunately, my sister in law was not on board.  She was mad and refused to do anything to help him.  I told both her and my new husband that until they could accept him, I would take two bedrooms next to each other, one for me, and one for my new stepson so that we could be close together and I could look after him because I loved him and wanted to make sure he knew he was loved.

It was only a dream, right?  But it left me with such overwhelming feelings.  I was especially surprised about the feelings that came out towards my stepson.  I don’t feel that protective about anyone in real life so I suppose the events of the day left an impression on me.

After the Game…

On any other day, the Seahawks beating the Saints 23-15 would have been the highlight of my day. That they did it in the playoffs, in Seattle, is the perfect way to add the exclamation point to the end of the season.  However, that was nothing compared to our walk home after the game.

My friend’s son made a couple of friends as we made our trek down 3rd Avenue.  Sword fighting turned into questions about the holidays, and when it came out that the big holiday event was my friend adopting her son, one of the guys stopped him and started talking to him about how incredible it was and how lucky he was to have found his family.  If I knew his name, I would share it here, but unfortunately I can only say that there is no better person that we could have met on our cold walk home.  It was easy to see why his friend described him as “everyone’s favorite uncle.” I hope it’s a story that stays with him. Actually, I hope it stays with both of them.

It’s only flirting

I don’t even remember how it came up, but our conversation last night ended up being all about flirting.  It was both funny and interesting, and very funny.

Girl #1: Had no idea how to flirt and had an adverse reaction to the word.

Girt #2 (me): I have been accused of being a huge flirt, but I have never tried to intentionally flirt.  If I did, I would probably fail.

Guy #1: Knows how to flirt, and likes to do it for fun.

Now I’m thinking I need to work on my flirt game. Or get a flirt game.  Thank goodness youtube:

 

 

Written by rachel

January 12, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

