Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

New Year’s Gratitude

with 2 comments

SkyCity Dining

As a belated Christmas gifts, I took my nephews to SkyCity Restaurant this past weekend.

I knew the location would be a hit but I was unsure about the food. I’ve had friends who have gone and the reviews have been mixed, leaning towards not worth the price.

In our experience, the food could not have been better.  It was so tasty and delicious that I left unable to remember every meal I had ever had before.

Here’s what we ordered:

Appetizers:

Dungeness Crab Cakes

Pot-stickers

Main Courses:

Cedar wrapped king crab legs

Duck fat frites

Broiled King Salmon (Kids’ menu)

RR Ranch Beef Short Ribs

Kobe Rib-eye (Special)

Desserts:

Crème Brulee

Fruit Crisp

Sorbet

The Lunar Orbiter

Drinks:

We had water. I started counting calories a couple of months ago and was not going to waste any calories on a drink.  My nephews, bless their hearts, always look at prices and then decide if they want to order something.  So we were a table of water drinkers for the night.

I would recommend everything we ordered except the pot-stickers.  They weren’t bad, just not great.  I usually do not eat crab cakes but these were delicious.  Rib-eye is my favorite steak and this one was the best I have ever had. Each bite melted in my mouth, it was so good.  I had bites of the crab & ribs, which were also delicious, but the salmon was gone as soon as the plate hit the table!

For the desserts, if you can only one, order the Lunar Orbiter. We loved the Blackberry/caramel combo we ordered but I’m sure all of the flavors are delicious.  The presentation alone is worth the price. It was so much fun and eating it was like heaven.  Actually, all of the desserts we ordered were like that.  In fact, all of the food was like that. There was not one bite that was regretted.

And our waiter, Ryan, could not have been better. He let us take our team while we looked over the menu and didn’t make us feel rushed at all while we took in the Seattle scenary and enjoyed our food.

I hope that the other people who felt like they had a less than stellar experience give it another try.  I loved it and hope that I can go back again!

SkyCity view of Seattle

Written by rachel

January 5, 2014 at 9:33 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel, you’ve picked my favorite restaurant in Seattle to blog about! So glad you enjoyed the food – and you are right on about the Lunar Orbiter! When we order it we love to see the stir around us as the fog rolls across the table. Great post! – Theresa (TJ)

    tjbarkerseattle

    January 6, 2014 at 10:45 am

    • We saw one from afar while we were ordering appetizers and had no idea what it was! It was so much fun having it brought out to the table!

      rachel

      January 6, 2014 at 10:26 pm


Leave a Reply

