Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Reconciliation & Resolution

leave a comment »

Reconciling thoughts

As I was sitting in reconciliation service pondering all of my faults and shortcomings and sins, what I kept thinking about more than anything else is my inability to recognize that not everyone sees things the way I do.  It’s something that was first brought to my attention when I read Post Marked by Mark R. Trost.  The line that stood out to me was:  I hadn’t considered that someone wouldn’t share my joy.

Every single time someone else feels differently about something than I do, I am stunned.  Logically I understand that everyone is going to have their own opinion, but processing that their opinion is actually different than mine is something I am not very good at doing.  I’d like to be able to change my reaction, but I don’t know how.

Resolutions, Circa 2014

Speaking of changes, I have also spent some time contemplating resolutions for the upcoming year.  This is what I have come up with:

  1. Learn how to be cognizant that people do not feel the same way I do.
  2. Clean & de-clutter.
  3. Do not work for someone I do not like.
  4. Save money.
  5. Go to Fenway.
  6. Let go of my obsession with ageing.  I’m not someone who is afraid of, or even trying to fight, getting older. I’m the opposite.  I want to look older. I want to stop getting asked for ID when I buy a drink.  I want people to look at me and know that I’m the older sister.   I hate that people think that I’m younger than I am. Lately, though, I hate that I care so much about this.

Selfie in a snap

During this holiday season I discovered two things:

  1. Filters for picture taking
  2. Snapchat

This combination has turned me into a selfie-taking machine!  If I am not taking a selfie, I am thinking about what to do and how to pose for my next selfie session.

This selfie obsession has lead to the realization that I have an odd shaped head and that I most likely have big teeth to help offset my chubby cheeks.

Here’s the evidence:

Selfie Obsession

Selfie Obsession

Song I’ve ended 2013 listening to: Matchbox Twenty – How Long

Written by rachel

January 1, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Leave a Reply

