Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

More Than Words

leave a comment »

I started writing this blog as an outlet.  It has been, and continues to be, a way for me to work through thoughts that I do not, or cannot, talk about.  So, it was a huge surprise when I received a comment from someone I wrote about.  And when it happened again, it moved me in a way that cannot be described in words.

So after not commenting on the comments by Paula Deen & Riley Cooper, I was reminded of why we should care about what people say.

Available on Amazon Instant Video is the PBS series Eyes on the Prize

As soon as I saw it, I was instantly transported back to my Junior year of high school, sitting in AP History, and watching this series.  The image of firemen turning fire hoses on little kids remains the most horrific thing I have ever seen.  It made me physically sick to think that people could be that full of hate.

To this day, it is still not something that I can understand.  Not when that hatred is based on something as arbitrary as skin color.  It’s so ridiculous and so absurd, and yet so real.  Which is why we shouldn’t just dismiss comments like Riley Coopers and the decisions made my Paula Deen. They may not seem like a big deal to us today, but I bet they mean something to the kids who had fire hoses turned on them.

Written by rachel

September 3, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

