Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Wait For Me

leave a comment »

I recently finished reading Wait For Me by Elisabeth Naughton.

This is a story about a woman who has retrograde amnesia and her journey to find out who she was, who she is, and who she wants to be.  The book was ok for me, but it did make me wonder:  If I woke up and didn’t remember the past, how would I know who I am?

I am the person I am today because of what I went through yesterday.  My favorites are favorites because of the memories they hold for me.  If I lost them, what else would I lose?

I know how to love and appreciate because of what I have lost, so if I don’t remember what I’ve lost, how would I know to cherish what I have been given?

Would I know how to love and how important it is to make a memory?

Would my favorites be my favorites if I couldn’t remember what it was that made them my favorites?

Would I like my friends if I couldn’t remember all the times we laughed together?  All of the times they were there for me, on my side, simply because that’s what we do for each other?

Would I remember how I lost my heart when my dad died, but found it when my nephews were born?

Would I still feel free looking out on the ocean or floating in a boat on a lake?

Would I remember that my favorite day involved my dad, brother, uncle, cousins, sunshine, and that I was the only person who caught fish that day?

I often wish I could be a better person than who I am, but reading this book made me realize that I wouldn’t change anything the journey that’s brought me to where I am today.  Even though I wish I could eliminate the hard parts, I know that without them, the good parts wouldn’t be as good.

Written by rachel

June 14, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Posted in Life

Leave a Reply

