Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Reinventing Rachel

leave a comment »

I started reading a book called Reinventing Rachel by Alison Strobel. I doubt I’ll finish it because it’s off to a slow start and just doesn’t seem worth finishing, but it did get me thinking.

The beginning of the story has a heavy emphasis on Rachel’s relationship with God.  It opens with Rachel as a devout follower and believer in God, but as soon as there’s a bump in the road, she immediately starts to question God and His role in her life.  It made me wonder how fragile and superficial people’s relationships are with God.

Of course I don’t view my relationship with God as fragile and superficial, and I don’t think I’ve ever questioned it, but I have questioned Him.  I have asked Him why things happened, why other things couldn’t happen, and why He could give me a sign, any sign, as proof of his existence.  I guess that was when my relationship with God was most fragile, but I was 12, doubted most of what I was told, and mostly, just missed my dad and wanted one more moment with him more than anything in the world.

For the most part, however, I haven’t turned to God to make things better.  I’ve turned to Him to help me get through things.  I think that’s what God’s role is, which is why I don’t understand why people think God is to blame for travesties and tragedies.  If you’re a believer, you know that God’s gift to man is free will, not protection from all the bad things.  Each of us has the ability to turn to Him for strength.  It is summed up best in The Song of Bernadette, which opens with the following:

For those who believe in God, no explanation is necessary. For those who do not believe in God, no explanation is possible.

I said all of that to say this:  God’s gift to me is peace.  For as much as I’ve hurt and cried, my relationship with him as brought me moments of peace that came just when I needed them so that I was strong enough to face the next challenge.

**********

I just bought the Let It Be cd last night, but this song seems appropriate to remember my dad, whose funeral was exactly 25 years ago today:

 

Written by rachel

May 6, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Leave a Reply

