Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Rewarded

with 2 comments

As I was getting ready to attend my nephew’s baseball game, it dawned on me: my reward for having a brother is being an aunt.

Growing up, my brother and I were best friends and best enemies.  We fought as much as we played together and I spent a lot of time praying that I could become an only child.  I even tried to give my brother away, finally striking a deal with a friend to trade little brothers.

Now that we’re all grown up, I get to reap the benefits of his decision to become a parent.  I often wonder if my brother and sister-in-law want me to get my own kids, but until they tell me I can’t see my nephews any more, I’m going to enjoy every single minute I can with them.  Luckily for me, our adventures together have taken us not only around the block, but around the world.

 

Gonzaga

Especially feeling rewarded this week is the Gonzaga Men’s Basketball team.  To close out the 2012-2013 basketball season, and for the third consecutive week, they were ranked #1 in both the AP Top 25 & USA Today Coaches polls.  They were also awarded the #1 seed in the West bracket in the NCAA tournament.

I’ve always been a proud Gonzaga basketball fan, but I never thought that Gonzaga would achieve a Number 1 ranking or get a 1 seed in the NCAA tourney.  There are so many doubters and naysayers that work to overshadow Gonzaga’s accomplishments every single year, but his team found the light and their way to #1.

With the tourney starting tomorrow, I want to say this now.  No matter how they do, I am very proud of what this year’s team has accomplished.  They represent not only what is right in college sports, but are an example for everyone of what can happen when you work as a team toward a common goal.

#GoZags

 

Written by rachel

March 20, 2013 at 10:34 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] anyone with the same kind of love I had before.  Then I met my nephews.  I wrote about them in Rewarded, but what I didn’t mention was how they helped me find my heart again.  They proved to me that […]

  2. hello u have a interesting site. I wanna say thanks for posting this interesting posts with us. Keep up good work!

    sexcontact

    April 15, 2013 at 12:03 pm


Leave a Reply

