Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

When It’s Faith

with 2 comments

Last week, during mass on Ash Wednesday, I was struck by how beautiful the moment was.  I love Catholic mass with the prayers and homilies, but this was the first time I saw the mass as beautiful.  It moved me in ways that I cannot describe with words.

Later in the week I watched Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God.

If you haven’t heard of it, it’s an HBO documentary on the sex abuse scandal in the Catholic Church.  Actually it’s not a scandal.  It’s a tragedy, a disgrace.  The victims were abused not only by the pedophile priests, but also by the church leaders who did nothing to stop them.  It would have been so easy to turn in the predators, but instead the leaders in my church decided to enable them and reward them for their abuse.  It wasn’t even that they didn’t know.  They didn’t care.  Well that’s not true.  They cared about themselves, but not the victims.

Seeing the documentary left me conflicted about the church.  I haven’t lost my faith in God, but I have started to wonder if I should remain with the Catholic Church.  I can’t imagine belonging to another church, but I’m not sure if I can stay in a church that doesn’t live its own values.

Or perhaps I’ve had it wrong all along and it really has been living its values.

Written by rachel

February 19, 2013 at 11:17 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s important to remember that God is the true head of the Church, not man. Men fall to temptation, men sin, even men in positions of authority in the Church. Look at the Sadducees Pharisees of Jesus’ time. Despite their position as men of faith, they denounced Christ and even out Him to death. The Church is more than men, more than rules. It is following God with all our hearts. Keeping the traditions that Jesus Himself began for us. And learning to love our enemies and to pray for sinners, just as Christ did. Even when the sinners or enemies may be within the Churhc itself. I pray that you find the answers you are looking for. Gpd Bless!

    rosesnearrunningwaters

    February 20, 2013 at 9:03 am

  2. You are very right, and I know this. It’s just hard for me to reconcile the words that the Pope and Cardinals say when compared to the actions they did that help to perpetuate this abuse. It’s in moments like these that I am thankful my faith is not dependent on my religion.

    rachel

    February 21, 2013 at 8:01 pm


Leave a Reply

