Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Twenty

with 2 comments

After reading this blog post from Tim Lewis: I Never Knew People Could Make So Much Noise, I started thinking about what would top my list.  It didn’t take me long to decide what was #1.

I was 15 and my high school had made it to the state championship game, which was called the Kingbowl because the game was held in the Kingdome.

The previous year, the football team had gone undefeated, only to lose in the state finals.  They repeated their undefeated journey back to state, which was a rematch of the championship game the year before. That’s right, both teams had gone undefeated and were meeting again for the championship game.

This was a David vs Goliath game.  It was the big city private all boys school vs the small town team.  They were nationally ranked and no one had even heard of our town.  I think they had six D1 recruits and we had none.  The teams were opposite in every way.

There’s a lot that I remember about the game, but what took my breath away, was looking into the stands.  It seemed like our whole town had invaded the Kingdome.  All I remember is seeing red and white and excitement.   After coming out of the half up 6-0 (I think), no one was sure what to expect in the 2nd half.  We knew our team was good and wanted to win, but we also knew how good the other team was.  But then our team started clicking, on offense, on defense, and special teams.  And slowly we realized that the greatest shock of the game wasn’t that we were going to win, it was that we were going to shut them out.

26-0.

Red. White. Excitement.

At the Kingdome.

Twenty years ago.

Written by rachel

January 14, 2013 at 11:48 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re awesome, Rachel! I’m glad my post sparked such a wonderful memory. That’s a great story. Thanks for sharing!

    Tim Lewis

    January 15, 2013 at 10:44 pm

  2. […] described the experience here, but what was not included in that walk down memory lane was the Zillah game.  They played in the […]


Leave a Reply

