Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Seattle Style

leave a comment »

I once read an article about the lack of style in Seattle.  In the winter, we’re shapeless North Face coat drones and in the summer we’re socks-with-sandals adventurers.  However, as I was driving back from my Pilates class today, I took a moment to observe the people milling around on this Sunday.  And you know what I saw?  Style!

Our style is distinctly northwest and not what you’d see LA, New York, Paris, Tokyo, or Milan.  And you know what?  I’m glad.  I don’t want to look like another city.  I love Seattle and I love that our style makes us unique.

I will grant you that there is some bad Seattle fashion.  Some of it is due to the weather and people just trying to hide from the rain, but there’s also a lot of engineers at the tech companies who roll out of bed and probably wear the first thing they find.  There’s a lot of business casual that consists of polos and khakis.  And of course we have the suburbs so “mom jeans” are never too far away.

On the flip side there are people who do own mirrors and put effort into the way they look.  Here’s how I would describe Seattle style:

Practical

Conservative

Not-label driven

Simple

Fun

Easy-to-wear

Favorites

It’s about looking good and feeling comfortable, knowing that you are ready to face whatever the day brings you.

Unfortunately, I am not a beacon of style (I was wearing a North Face fleece as I was observing the fashion style of passers by), but here are some links that will show you the best of what Seattle has to offer:

http://www.johnleebell.com

http://www.itsmydarlin.com

 

Written by rachel

January 6, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Posted in Life, Ponderings

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

