Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Courage

leave a comment »

Since I’ve been fighting a cold for the past week or so, the best idea I’ve had this holiday season was to stay home on NYE and watch movies.  My choice to end 2012 and start 2013:  The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. What better way to pass the time when you’re home sick and everyone else is out enjoying national amateur night?

When the movies first came out, I was captivated with Viggo Mortensen, Orlando Bloom, and Karl Urban.  But this time around, I was focused on the bond between the characters, most especially Sean Astin’s character, Samwise Gamgee.

In the beginning of the movie, Samwise seems like a hobbit that would be perfectly happy never leaving the shire.  His sense of adventure and thrill seeking seems to peak with hanging out with his friends and thinking about Rosie Cotton.  But then he’s unexpectedly thrust out of his comfort zone when he embarks on a journey with his friend.

What amazed me was that Sam, while he cared about the ultimate goal, was focused on helping his friend.  He left the safety of the shire for his friend.  He travelled long distances for his friend.  He put up with Gollum for his friend.  He fought for his friend.  He carried his friend.  He wasn’t brave or strong or courageous for glory.  He was brave and strong and courageous for his friend.

Seeing Sam made me think, if I had to be, could I ever be brave, strong, and courageous?  I know what I want the answer to be, but I’m just not sure if it’s the right one.

Written by rachel

January 2, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Leave a Reply

