Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Time For Thanks

leave a comment »

As I reflect on 2012 and what I am most thankful for, one word comes to mind: time.  I am thankful for the time that this past year has granted me.

I hardly noticed when 2012 began.  I was not only consumed with work, I was overwhelmed by it.  I knew that I had lost myself, but I didn’t know how to make a change.  All of my energy was focused on putting one foot in front of the other, and there wasn’t enough left over for me to even catch my breath and find my balance.

Without balance I struggled, and as I struggled, I dropped everything.  I eventually found bottom after a trip to Hawaii where I got to walk the shores of Waikiki.  It was beautiful and it reminded my body and soul of what they had been missing.  I thought the cure could be found in California wine country and the shores of Mexico, but I was wrong.  Instead of healing, my body and soul continued to ache for more than just fleeting moments of peace and balance.

The search came to an end after a visit to the Columbia River.  Watching the reflection of the sun on the river soothed me in ways that the Pacific Ocean and Banderas Bay could not.  It gave me a refreshed perspective and I was reminded that I have to fight to not lose myself, that time can be a precious gift, and to listen to my instincts.

November began with my decision to share not what I’m thankful for, but rather who I am thankful for. What started out as a fun walk down memory lane ended up being a life lesson.  I learned that when you have something to say about someone, no matter how great or small, your words will touch them.  Everyone likes knowing that they matter and when you share why they matter to you, you will be overwhelmed by their response.  At least I was.

As December, and 2012, come to an end.  I have given more of myself than I should to a job that doesn’t repay me in kind, but I have not let it overwhelm and consume me.  I have kept boundaries so that I still have time for myself.  With that time, I’ve followed my instincts as they’ve lead me to relaxation, inspiration, and rejuvenation.

So here’s to 2012 and the time that it granted me to reconnect with myself and create new memories that define this life I am living.

Written by rachel

December 28, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Posted in Life, Ponderings

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

