Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Fearless

leave a comment »

Last night my friends and I met up for the Battle In Seattle, the annual game that brings Gonzaga to Seattle.

I look forward to this game every year, especially since the Washington Huskies stopped the UW-GU series, thus eliminating an opportunity to see Gonzaga play in my current hometown.

There is always a certain level of hype surrounding Gonzaga before Midnight Madness kicks off the season.  At first it was exciting to read about, especially when they were mentioned as being a Top 10 team, but over the years, I’ve become less and less interested in the preseason reviews. Gonzaga has established itself as a solid program and will always be competitive.  I never doubt that they will be a challenge for whomever they are playing.  Some years the teams are better than others, but each team has its own brand of toughness and finesse.  Until last night, I had no reason to believe that this year’s team was any different.  Talented for sure, but I wasn’t ready to jump on the Final Four bandwagon.

Fearless. 

This is the word that came to mind as soon as the whistle blew and the game started.  And it wasn’t just one or two players, it was every player that entered the game in a GU uniform.  I can’t even tell you about the Kansas State players because I didn’t even notice them.  The GU players held me captive for the entire game.

For as talented as the players are, I think that this team’s greatest strength is its ability to adjust and play to the strengths of the players on the court.  It doesn’t matter who’s on the floor because they adjust to one another and take off.  In the past, when subs rotated into the game, the team would try to cover for them, but it doesn’t feel that way this year.  I won’t start shouting Final Four, but after Saturday night, I wouldn’t rule it out.

Written by rachel

December 16, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Leave a Reply

