Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Free Gift WIth Purchase

with 3 comments

I started reading Free Gift With Purchase  by Jackie Pilossoph and almost stopped.  A few times. I didn’t like the main character or even her storyline very much but found it funny that the story included her saying her new lipstick was part of a Free Gift With Purchase (FGWP).  So I stayed with the book and kept on reading, and then I got it.

The FGWP message is essentially about karma but told in a brilliant way.  Perhaps it’s only brilliant if you get as excited as I do when you see the FGWP option, but I’m a firm believer that you can never hear a positive message too many times.  In this story, when you do good things, you do them because they are right for you but there is unintended goodness you receive because of what you do.  That unintended goodness is what the author is calling the FGWP.  (For the record, I could’ve stopped reading the book after this point.  I’m extremely puzzled as to how I could love this message but not the story.)

It made me start thinking about how I live and if I live well enough to have earned good things in my life.

This November, instead of being thankful for things, I made the decision to say why I’m thankful for my friends.  It’s a limited scope since it’s only on Facebook, but it’s made me realize a couple of things:

  1. I have amazing friends, both people I’ve known all of my life and people I’ve never met in person.  It’s not that I didn’t know I had amazing friends, but remembering the times we’ve spent together and why I like them, has been an amazing journey.
  2. One of my favorite quotes is “Love delayed is love denied.”  By sharing why I like my friends, I feel like I have reaffirmed our friendship.  It’s made it feel like our time together has been worth it and wasn’t wasted on meaningless moments.

This has been contrasted by what has been going on at work.  When I connect with someone, it’s great.  I feel like the whole world (or at least my world) gets better, and I’m just talking about co-workers!   But for the first time in my life, I’m working for someone I just don’t understand.  There is no common ground, and I am always on the wrong side of the street going in the opposite direction with this person.  My initial instinct after meeting this person over a year ago was to run, and I should have.  Only I’m me, and I don’t like to give up or give in.  I believe that people can always find common ground.  So far, all we seem to agree on is we’re using different maps.

Reading FGWP made me wonder what I did to deserve this.  If I believe that good things can happen because of my actions, then I must believe that bad things can happen.  I’m tempted to believe this is teaching me that I should follow my instincts; that by ignoring them and not taking action, I’ve let myself be trapped in this black whole.  Because my intentions have been honest, there have been some good things that have come from this.  I know that I am stronger than I thought, but not strong enough to keep hearing that I’m no good everyday.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is that I’m slowly learning that when I do nothing, I will constantly have to chase goodness and elude the FGWP that holds me down.  However, when I take action and choose my direction, goodness will follow me and give hand me my FGWP that compliments what I already have.

Written by rachel

November 26, 2012 at 10:03 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Rachel,
    I am both very sad and happy while reading what you had to say about my book. I respect your opinion and I’m disappointed that you didn’t like my story or my main character (who i think is so much like me.) LOL!! That said, I feel happy that I made you think about life in a positive way. As a writer, if i can touch someone and inspire them in a way (which i feel I did with you a bit) then i’ve done my job.

    As far as your work situation goes, I’m really sorry you are having trouble there, especially because you probably spend so much of your life at the office (like all of us.) What i will tell you is, one of the best managers I’ve ever had was a guy I worked for when i was in my 20’s. He used to say, “Just do the best work you can do and no one can ever take that away from you.” It’s always stuck with me because it’s so true.

    I bet you are really talented, and i think if you keep doing what you are doing, and if you enjoy the work you do, good things (and other opportunities) will come your way. Just stay honest and work hard. And my last piece of advice is, don’t take it personally. Maybe that’s just the person’s personality. Maybe he or she just doesn’t get along with anyone so well. In other words, maybe it’s not YOU.

    Take care and thanks again for the good part of what you had to say about my book. 🙂

    Jackie Pilossoph

    Jackie Pilossoph

    November 27, 2012 at 10:21 am

    • Wow, I was not expecting the actual author of the book to respond!

      I’ve spent all day puzzled as to how I could have conflicting reactions to the book, but I really think the way you delivered the message was amazing. I go in stretches when I read a book a day, but very few have moved me enough to want to actually write about them, which is something your book did.

      For the record, I am glad that she ended up with Luke. That part made me happy.

      Thank you for your kind words. They mean a lot and made my day.

      rachel

      November 27, 2012 at 9:53 pm

  2. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice article.

    sex live

    November 28, 2012 at 3:29 am


Leave a Reply

