Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

A Standard of Living

with 3 comments

When I was young, life was simply black and white, right and wrong. As I get older, with each passing year, the lines in life draw new intersections and another shade of gray gets added.  I’m not sure when the lines started to blur, I’m guessing around the time when life started to get “complicated.”  Instead of searching for what was right, I started finding excuses.

I’m reminded of the flexibility in my morals and standards when I hear stories like the one surrounding General Petraeus.  It’s so easy to compartmentalize his job from his personal life, but then I wonder if it matters.  His betrayal is a personal one that could have national security implications, but does the fact that he lied in private matter when we evaluate him in public?

I feel that when we allow ourselves to compartmentalize, we deny ourselves the ability to see the whole person and the whole situation.  Part of the situation may be that the person is famous and lives under a spotlight, but that doesn’t mean that the mass public should pile on.  If our family and friends made a mistake, how would we want the rest of the world to treat them?  We would want understanding and compassion, right?  That one wrong is just one part, one incident of many in a life, that makes up our friend.  As a friend, we can overlook and forgive.  But as a person who is part of the masses, it seems like it’s easier to cast stones.

On the flip side, it also seems like it’s easier to overlook things.  How much bad behavior do famous people get away with just because they’re famous?  Would we want our kids to talk with the same hatred and discrimination as someone like Bill O’Reilly?

I don’t have a point to writing this, other than I often wonder how my 13 year old self would view my 35 year old self.  Would she be proud because she saw someone who can forgive and see the whole person?  Or would she be disappointed because she saw someone who lowered her standards to try to fit into an immoral society?

Written by rachel

November 18, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Posted in Life, Ponderings

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Our society is quick to point the finger at someone for something they’ve done. But they’re also quick to forgive. The reason is because nobody’s perfect. Everyone’s F’s up from time to time. But is our society to quick to forgive sometimes. It’s create less accountability that trickles down through the masses.

    reviewmyonlinedate

    November 19, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  2. I just want to tell you that I am just new to blogging and site-building and actually liked your web-site. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You really come with amazing articles and reviews. Kudos for sharing your website page.

    Ethan Sehr

    November 28, 2012 at 9:24 pm

  3. I just want to say I’m very new to blogging and site-building and definitely liked you’re blog. Very likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You amazingly come with outstanding article content. Appreciate it for sharing with us your blog site.

    Maxwell Marchetta

    November 29, 2012 at 5:05 am


Leave a Reply

