Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Extensions

with one comment

As I’ve been swept up in projects the past couple of weeks, I realized that I haven’t written or posted anything.  For me, this is sad but also very good.  One of the things I love most is writing.  It’s what I turn to when I am lost and unbalanced.

I like to think of myself as being strong and capable of powering through tough times.  And while it may be true, I take it to extremes by giving up all of myself.  This break has made me realize that for me to be strong, I need to follow my instincts.  For too long I ignored the voice that was screaming “Change!”  With hindsight, I understand that change would not have been giving up, it would’ve been survival.  I ended up in such a desperate place, I couldn’t see what was in front of me.

With time, I’ve learned that I need to relax and break away from my day job.  I need sleep, rest, and relaxation.  I need to exercise.  I need hobbies.  I need to do something that stimulates my creativity.  I don’t think of myself, or describe myself, as being creative, but I like to think that I have some good ideas.  My execution usually leaves a lot to be desired but I think with practice I could improve on that.

For example:

I crocheted a scarf:

I discovered Pinterest and made cake-in-a-jar for my friend’s birthday (she loves Halloween, so it was made with Halloween cake)

Of course the real test is maintaining the boundaries so that I have true separation of works, fun, and rest.  Only then will I know if I’ve learned to stop over-extending myself.

**********

I recently read Death By Chocolate by Julie Anne Lindsey and have to recommend it.  The main character and her best friend are totally twisted embark on a fantastic journey.

Written by rachel

October 30, 2012 at 7:32 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I simply want to tell you that I am just new to blogging and really enjoyed your web site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You surely come with excellent articles. Many thanks for sharing with us your web page.

    Marquis Lange

    November 28, 2012 at 11:25 pm


Leave a Reply

