Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

The Sharing Game

with one comment

I came across the following tweet from @markhoroszowski:

What makes you “click” with someone else? http://www.bakadesuyo.com/2012/10/02/what-makes-you-click-with-someone-else/ …#communicate

Clicking on that link led me to this: Is there a shortcut to bonding with a romantic partner on a deeper level?   

Here are some of the questions, along with my answers, that are asked:

1. Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want as a dinner guest?

President Barack Obama.  I find him fascinating in so many different ways.

2. Would you like to be famous? In what way?

No.  I don’t like being in the spotlight or talked about in general, so being the focus of tabloids would drive me crazy.

3. Before making a telephone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why?

Yes, in case they don’t answer and I have to leave a message.  I ramble and confuse my thoughts so thinking about what to say before hand is always a good idea for me.

4. What would constitute a “perfect” day for you?

Being happy with myself and the day.  I like the idea of being able to follow my mood and feeling no regrets at the end.

5. When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?

I last sang Overjoyed to myself.

The last song I sang with/to someone else was Call Me Maybe with my nephews.

6. If you were able to live to the age of 90 and retain either the mind or body of a 30-year-old for the last 60 years of your life, which would you want?

I would want the body I had at age 30, that way I would know that if I was unable to walk, I would be light enough for people to carry around.

7. Name three things you and your partner appear to have in common.

Does not apply.  I am the Lone Ranger without my Tonto.

8. For what in your life do you feel most grateful?

This is easy.  My nephews.  Without them I wouldn’t know that I could so easily and completely love someone.

9. If you could change anything about the way you were raised, what would it be?

The only thing that I would change would be to have my dad with me longer.  I’ve missed him every day since he died.

10. If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?

I would want a photographic memory.

11. If a crystal ball could tell you the truth about yourself, your life, the future, or anything else, what would you want to know?

I would want to know what other people think of me.

12. Is there something that you’ve dreamed of doing for a long time? Why haven’t you done it?

I’ve always wanted to write a book.  I haven’t written one because I’ve always thought that I’d need to live a life to write a book that is more than just the words on the page they’re written on.

13. What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?

Graduating from college in 3 years.

14. What do you value most in a friendship?

Trust. Honesty. Joy. Support.  There isn’t one thing about my friendships that I value; it’s about the connections I feel with each person.  I also know that I can trust them and they’ll always be there for me.

15. What is your most treasured memory?

Sailing with my dad.  It was a freedom that I’ve never felt before or since.

16. What is your most terrible memory?

Crying every night because of how much I missed my dad.

17. What does friendship mean to you?

It’s everything to me.  I am not me without my friends.

18. What roles do love and affection play in your life?

I love the people in my life but I am not an affectionate person.  The only people that I willing show affection towards are my nephews.

19. How close and warm is your family? Do you feel your childhood was happier than most other people’s?

I think of my family as being close.  We could be closer but we’re all fairly independent so I’m not sure that being closer would change the dynamics of our relationships.

I don’t know how my childhood stacks up against other childhoods.  I know that I wouldn’t change the memories I have for anyone else’s.

20. Complete this sentence:”I wish I had someone with whom I could share…”

…my life.  For as much as I can’t imagine living with someone else, there’s a part of me that would like to have someone to share everything with.

21. If you were going to become a close friend with your partner, please share what would be important for him or her to know.

I don’t have a partner but the most important thing for anyone to know about me is that I need time alone.  I need my own space.

22. Tell your partner what you like about them; be very honest this time saying things that you might not say to someone you’ve just met.

Does not apply.

23. Share with your partner an embarrassing moment in your life.

I get embarrassed any time I’m the center of attention.  The last time I can remember is when I got an award at work and had to stand in front of everyone.

24. When did you last cry in front of another person? By yourself?

The last time I cried in front of anyone else was probably in college and I’m not sure that it even counts.  I had been drinking all night so it was drunk crying.  Luckily the person I was crying in front of was very understanding and didn’t hold it against me.

I cry by myself more often than I can count.  But the last time was probably a few weeks ago.

25. Tell your partner something that you like about them already.

Does not apply.

26. What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about?

I feel best when I can laugh about everything.  Laughter is my coping mechanism.  However, just like with stand up comedians, timing is everything.

27. Your house, containing everything you own, catches fire. After saving your loved ones and pets, you have time to safely make a final dash to save any one item. What would it be? Why?

Because I can’t stay within the rules, I’d grab my purse, external hard drive and laptop.  They have my most important things in them. I’d probably also try to save my make up because that is also important to this girl.

Written by rachel

October 10, 2012 at 11:23 am

Posted in Life

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love what you guys are usually up too. This sort of clever work and exposure! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve you guys to my blogroll.


Leave a Reply

