Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Debating the Debates

leave a comment »

Debate 1 is done.  I like the idea of the debates but given the 24-hour news cycle I’m amazed that there are people who still don’t know who to vote for.

Knowing what I know about Romney, I thought he looked desperate for attention. It didn’t help that one of the first things he said was that he’d eliminate spending for PBS & Sesame Street.  Most everyone I know has grown up with Sesame Street so saying that he wants to get rid of it didn’t sit well with me.  Throughout the debate he reminded me of a car salesman that kept stealing time for one more word.

I thought that the President looked cool, calm, and collected.  Why should he have to debate the lies and untruths that Romney speaks?  Doesn’t that just give them credit?  He could say that Romney was full of shit but that would sound petty and very unpresidential.  Why should he have to state the obvious over and over again?

Now that I’m listening to the analysts, it sounds like President Obama should have stated the obvious.  In the long run, 34 days, I think that tonight can set up Romney because he will have to prove that he can stay consistent and on message.  If he says again that the economy will improve just because he’s in office, people will want to know why.  Just not me.  He has too many answers and I don’t have the energy to follow them all.

My final disclosure:  I support President Obama, have donated money to his campaign, and will vote for him in this election.  I actually like him and think he’s done more than he talks about.  Hey may be too smart for his own good but after the previous 8 years before him, I prefer smart.

My final thought: Romney can’t say he wants less government and happiness for all Americans when he wants to the government to prevent gay marriage.

My friend’s 5 year old daughter’s analysis of the debate: “the guy in the red tie doesn’t know what he is saying.” ” Arack Obama, he is tired mommy. We should go to his house and tell him he needs a vacation.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by rachel

October 3, 2012 at 8:20 pm

Leave a Reply

