Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Control & Dependency

with one comment

After reading reviews for the Fifty Shades series, I was introduced to a book called Bared To You by Sylvia Day. The follow up sequel, Reflected In You, was released today.  And I read it all in one sitting.

Reflected In You is very similar to Fifty Shades in that the main characters, Gideon & Eva, are young, beautiful, and can’t get enough of each other.  They deviate from Christian and Ana in that they are both accustomed to a privileged life, they have friends independent of each other, and they live in New York instead of Seattle.

Gideon and Eva have a relationship that reminds me of middle school. They neither talk nor listen to each other; instead, they antagonize each other.  He wants to control her and she can’t find her own way.  When the going gets tough, they jump to conclusions, shut down, and shut the other person out.

This is the line from the book that really sums up the characters & story line for me, Gideon to Eva: Trust me to know what you need, even when you think I’m wrong. And I’ll trust your decision to be with me despite my faults

After reading Reflected In You, I just don’t like Gideon or Eva.  There’s nothing in the story line that draws me in.  Maybe that’s the genius of the plot.  There are two unlikeable characters that are drawn to each other, so it’s a train wreck that you can’t stop reading about it.  But it’s why I don’t like them that has really gotten under my skin.

Good looks and money are great, but they’re not going to make me feel invested in Gideon.  Even his deeply troubled childhood rang empty after the constant hammering of how he wanted to control and dominate Eva in every way.  And having Eva fall all over herself to give up her independence to Gideon was incredibly disturbing.

For the record, I am not a female who’s on a feminist high horse.  (I think that the ultimate feminist power play is to make the best decisions that are right for you.  And when I say best, I don’t mean safe, I mean follow your dreams and your instincts.)  I do, however, feel pretty strongly about someone controlling and dominating someone else.  I don’t know if it can be called anything other than abusive.  And reading about frightens me.  It feels personal because I can’t imagine willingly giving up my independence so freely and without thought.

This is where I think the Crossfire series fails in comparison to Fifty Shades.  Without Eva having any independence in her relationship with Gideon, there’s no romance. There isn’t that give and take between two people to create a relationship.  As frustrating as Fifty Shades was, Christian changed for, and because of, Ana.  He was cold, calculating, and controlling, but added hearts and flowers for Ana.

 

Written by rachel

October 3, 2012 at 1:14 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m impressed, I must say. Really not often do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve got hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very comfortable that I stumbled across this in my search for something regarding this.

    Desire

    October 3, 2012 at 7:13 pm


Leave a Reply

