Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Day 14: Flexibility

leave a comment »

Playlist: BS Report – Week 2 Lines with Cousin Sal

After my walk and stretching was done for the day, I was paused with fear of having my back go out on me again.

I’ve had chronic back pain for over 20 years, which is the direct result of a very incompetent middle school track coach making me participate in the high jump competition for that meet.  As a kid who listened to adults without questioning them, I did as he told even though I couldn’t figure out why he wanted me to do it as I stood just under 5’ tall.  After multiple attempts that resulted in me landing with the bar under my back, I gave up and let my coach know.  He couldn’t have cared less.  Along with that memory, I was able to walk away with chronic back pain.

When I was 20, I woke up one morning, stretched, and felt a pop in my back followed by something that felt like a warm liquid oozing across my lower back.  I couldn’t walk for 3 days.  When I went to the doctor, I was told that it was no big deal and that I should come back when I couldn’t walk for 6 weeks.

When I was in my mid-to-late 20s, after having joined a gym, I found myself unable to walk.  It happened again when I was 30, after a hot yoga session, that tweaked my left knee.  After limping around for a couple of weeks, my back couldn’t handle it and I was unable to walk for about 4 days.

So today, as I felt the familiar pain and moved around timidly, I prayed that the moment of pain would pass without further distinction.  And tomorrow, I’ll take my walk but may skip the ab workout in the hopes that my back muscles just need a break.

Written by rachel

September 13, 2012 at 9:44 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

