Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Day 12: Optimism Gone Awry

leave a comment »

Playlist: BS Report – The return of the NFL season with Mike Lombardi

It’s been a little over 24 hours since the Seahawks lost their game at Arizona.   It was nice watching it with other people, but once I got home and turned on the Denver – Pittsburgh game, I got angrier and angrier about the loss.  It wasn’t a single play that lost the game but there are a handful of plays that could’ve made a big difference.  On the bright side, Russell Wilson looked good.  Much better than I thought he would be in his first start, against a division rival, on the road.

I think I’ve made progress in terms of limiting my obsession with sports, but I don’t know if it’s enough.  I wonder what would happen if I went a year without watching sports.  Would I feel like a different person?  Would I take up a new hobby?  Would I save money?  Would I travel & explore?

Sometimes I wonder if sports have been my emotional outlet.  I feel like there’s a metaphor of me sitting alone in the basement watching football, I’m just not ready to analyze it yet.

The Newsroom

With the conventions over and fall shows not yet started, I started watching the Newsroom.  This is a fantastic show.  It makes me think that I should’ve gone into journalism.  That I could have contributed with analysis and knowledge of what was going on in the world today.  Sometimes I wonder if it’s too late.  What if I made the change right now?  Would I be more fulfilled? Feel more accomplished?

I don’t know the answers but it’s a show that inspires me.

Overjoyed

This song just sounds like love, unconditional and without prejudice.

 

 

 

Written by rachel

September 10, 2012 at 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

