Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Ageing

leave a comment »

I’ve spent so much time focused on being accused of looking younger than I am that I never noticed how much older I’ve started looking.  I don’t know when it happened, but it happened.

I saw my face in the mirror today and took a moment to study what was being reflected back.  I have under eye circles and wrinkles.

Over the years, I’ve tried different creams and moisturizers to avoid and erase evidence of life from my face.  Somewhere along the line, I stopped trying.  There was no particular reason for me stopping other than it didn’t seem like a fight worth fighting.

When I saw them today and really looked at them, I was oddly proud of them.  They’re there because they help tell a story about my life: all of my happiness, sadness, stress, and experience.  Every line and circle represents a moment that impacted me.

 

My Dash 

I’ve started reading Passport through Darkness: A True Story of Danger and Second Chances by Kimberly L. Smith

The book so far (I’m half way through it) is fantastic.  It got me thinking about my own life, what I’m doing, and what I want to do.

It then made me think about the movie Serendipity when John Cusak and Jeremy Piven’s characters talk about writing their own obituaries of how there lives turn out.

Thinking about writing my own obituary made me think about the poem The Dash by Linda Ellis.

When I think about what I’d write about my dash, my life, I have a timeline of events, birth, school, work.  But I haven’t lived a value added life.  I haven’t done anything of worth.  I’ve done things that I like and I’ve enjoyed but I haven’t done anything to make the world I live in a better place.  I haven’t earned a dash.

In addition to getting more sleep, I think I also need to find a life worth living.  I think I’m most afraid of not finding it.

 

Rob Thomas: Getting Late

Leave a Reply

