Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Ichiro

with 2 comments

Baseball in Seattle just took a turn for the worse.

I do not have the nostalgia kind of love for Ichiro that I do for Ken Griffey, Jr, however, I cannot imagine Seattle baseball without him.  I am overwhelmingly sad that he is no longer with Seattle and am even sadder that he never made it to the World Series in a Mariner uniform.  So, instead of writing about his stats and career, I want to share the Ichiro moments that have stood out to me over the years.

Memory #1

I remember hearing about him before he signed with Seattle and I wasn’t sure what to think.  He had already played quite some time in Japan, and it was hard to imagine a smooth transition for him.  And then I saw this play:

Ichiro’s throw

That is my first impression of Ichiro and it has been a lasting one.

Memory #2

From what I’ve heard, Ichiro speaks English but prefers to do interviews through his translator, which is why this is one of my favorite interview clips.  Ever.

 

Memory #3

I could not have been happier about having Junior back in Seattle.  This is one of my favorite commercials with Junior & Ichiro

 

Memory #4

My nephew has grown up with Ichiro as his favorite player.  When he was 4 and started playing summer rec baseball, he would do his Ichiro impersonation at the plate.  But not only would he do his Ichiro impersonation, he would tell me he was going to do it when he was standing at home plate!  (This is an Ichiro-inspired memory.)

Without Ichiro Seattle no longer has an everyday superstar player who will make plays and create memories that last a lifetime.  And that is one of the greatest things about baseball.  Watching the game in front of you and remembering the greats that graced the field in seasons past.  What current players will provide those memories for us tomorrow?

Written by rachel

July 24, 2012 at 10:14 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and individually recommend to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this site.

  2. I’m now not certain where you’re getting your info, however great topic. I must spend some time studying more or figuring out more. Thank you for excellent information I was looking for this information for my mission.


Leave a Reply

