Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Post Marked (by Mark R. Trost)

leave a comment »

This book really struck a chord with me on several different levels.  The style of writing for the book threw me, but once I understood how it was written and what I was reading, I loved it even more.  (Again, it took me awhile to figure this out….and I will put all of the blame on the quality of books that I have been reading of late.  In no way could the blame lie with myself.)

What stood out to me:

Style of Writing

At 800+ pages long, it was a way to keep me engaged in the book itself.

Living Alone

From the chapter Beside Myself.  The quote: “The true casualty is the loss of one’s self of proportion.”  

Since I am an introvert and very private person who has lived alone for so long, part of my fear of letting someone else in is just that. Letting someone else in.  I don’t know that my “secrets” are truly secrets but, when I am home, everything I do is a private matter.  Having someone else around is like an invasion of privacy and every moment is compromised.  It requires me to be thoughtful of another person since it is not just about me and what I want to do, when I want to do it. The other person could make plans that would include me.  

I really am just becoming more selfish the longer I live on my own.  I fear I will only grow more comfortable being by myself and more lonely when I am with other people.

Ending Friendships

From the chapter Ambushed.  The quote (from Fault Lines): “Why can’t you love people who are less than you expect them to be?

In the book, the character walks away from a 30 year old friendship.  They try to reconnect but in the end, the friendship is over.  This bothered me more than I care to admit.  And I couldn’t put my finger on it, until I realized that I don’t consider my friendships optional.  This is somewhat at odds with my belief that people are in our lives when we need them (thanks to Danielle Steel’s The Gift), but there are certain people I will always be friends with.  No matter how long we go without speaking or seeing each other, I know that when I see them again, the time apart won’t matter.  This isn’t true for everyone I know but if you’ve been in my life for 30 years, chances are, you’re in it with me for the long haul.  And this is where Bon Jovi comes in: “Through the years and miles between us, it’s been a long and lonely ride, but if I got that call in the dead of night, I’d be right by your side.”

Religion

The quote (from Creationism vs Evolutionism): “I don’t limit God just because I’m too limited to understand Him.”

Living in a time when people are more concerned with being spiritual and less committed to any faith, it was really refreshing to read about a character committed 100% to his religion and willing to defend it.  Even though I am one of the people who is more about faith than religion, I can’t imagine practicing any other religion.  For me, Catholicism is a religion that gives whatever you put into it.  If I run through the motions of mass, I walk away feeling empty.  However, if I pray and listen and am open during mass, I walk away feeling better, refreshed.

Marriage

From the chapter Gay Marriage: A Civil Argument. The quote: “It is a movement about having the right to be treated with civility.”

I don’t understand how we can live in a country that refuses to recognize the union of two consenting adults who want to be legally bound to each other.  My only that is that, as a Catholic, I am meant to love and accept people for who they are.

Leaving a Mark

The character wanted to leave his mark, especially with his writing, which was his profession.  This probably struck a chord with me more than anything else.  I realized that the past two years have been a blur for me.  No day stands out from another, they all meld into one and I can’t even remember what I did or why did what I did.  I don’t remember conversations or moments.  Thinking about this made me sad.  What is my life if I can’t look back and remember happy times and fun moments?  Even the bad moments are worth remembering if it means I don’t make those mistakes again.  However, I have been so caught up in work, that I have nothing but a blended blur of “stuff that happened.”  Given how little I remember, I am sure that I was even less memorable than the memories I have.  I am not sure what makes me sadder; not remembering or not being remembered.

Valediction

From the chapter Yes or Know.  The quote: “We won’t tell the people we love that we care.”

This reminded me of a conversation I had with my brother.  He told me that he always told people he loved them because he never knew if he would see them again.  Until his words, I never felt that way.  Since then, I tell him, his wife, his kids, and our mom I love them, but they usually have to say it first.  

 
Written by rachel

July 16, 2012 at 11:50 pm

Leave a Reply

