Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Super Bowl

with 6 comments

Based on both teams playing their best, I was convinced that the Colts would win and that it wouldn’t be close. I like both teams, both coaches (what I know of them), and definitely like both quarterbacks.

I am probably the only person who:
1. didn’t think either QB needed to win this game to “prove” how great they are. I love watching Manning. I’m not sure I’ll ever see another QB do what he does, or the way he does it. And when he’s frustrated, well that’s entertaining too! I’ve been a Drew Brees fan since hearing about him at Purdue. I think he’s always been underappreciated and have always thought he was better than teams (San Diego) gave him credit for. He didn’t need a Super Bowl ring to be an elite QB in my eyes. (I can’t remember who said it but an analyst called Brees an elite human being, which I agree with.)
2. never felt compelled to root for the Saints because of hurricane Katrina. I’m happy for the fans when the team wins but unless it’s a situation like what Baylor went through, I have yet to jump on the bandwagon because of what a team’s city has gone through. Proof of this is my desire to watch the Yankees lose in the World Series after 9/11. I couldn’t have been happier or more excited to see the Diamondbacks win.
3. got excited every time there was a shot that included Mark Brunell. I never understood why I never had a favorite QB, but seeing him again reminded me that he is my favorite. No other QB even comes close to him for me. He embodies everything I love most about my athletic heroes: he comes back from every setback and makes the most of his opportunities. He may not be the best QB ever but how many QBS love the game enough come back without putting themselves above the game?

Once the game got underway, Dwight Freeney play aside, there was a feeling that the Saints were meant to win the game. I don’t think that the Colts could have done anything to have stopped the Saints from winning. The analysts can prove me wrong but there was a feeling while watching the game that it belonged to the Saints.

Congrats to Drew Brees on being the MVP. The shots of him with his son are priceless. (Garrett Hartley deserves honorable mention. I don’t think his made FGs should be underestimated.)

From the Sports Guy: The fact that Manning got blocked from behind while trying to make the tackle will always be the elephant in the room of Super Bowl 44 (http://bit.ly/9sPC8r)

Here are some articles on Mark Brunell:

Saints’ Mark Brunell had a Super backup plan
Ex-Jaguars QB won’t quibble about his quest for a ring as second string
BY GENE FRENETTE
STORY UPDATED AT 6:33 AM ON WEDNESDAY, FEB. 3, 2010
http://bit.ly/9tgldX

Mark Brunell Wins Long-Awaited Super Bowl Championship by Zeke Fuhrman
Zeke Fuhrman, Analyst
Written on February 07, 2010
http://bit.ly/97qhRo

After 16 years, Saints’ Brunell finally arrives in Super Bowl
By Jim Corbett, USA TODAY
February 7, 2010
http://bit.ly/cEwPKR

Super Bowl Commercials
The Super Bowl commercials seem to be getting worse, but there were a couple favorites:

Leno, Letterman, Oprah Commercial http://bit.ly/bOvbhL
(Here’s an article about the commercial http://bit.ly/aqBVom)

Boost Mobile Shuffle 2010 http://bit.ly/93VBsD

Doritos Watch Yourself Commercial http://bit.ly/dbUM42

Bud Light Bringing the T-Pain http://bit.ly/bnk6Ha

I missed seeing the Tim Tebow commercial but here it is: http://bit.ly/bQyVj8
*I’m not really sure what all the fuss was about but the only thing about the ad that I didn’t like was that it wasn’t very good.

Written by rachel

February 8, 2010 at 1:06 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I usually dont post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. beautiful Kyou can check my watch superbowl live

    Nina Mogle

    February 9, 2010 at 7:04 pm

  2. I usually dont post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. beautiful Kyou can check my watch superbowl live

    Leanora Gather

    February 9, 2010 at 7:05 pm

  3. Your RSS feed doesn’t work in my browser (google chrome) how can I fix it? I can watch another live superbowl match http://SatelliteTVforPCelite.org

    Willian Husaini

    February 9, 2010 at 7:15 pm

  4. I’ll get get flamed for what I’ll say next.I do not hate the Colts, even though I grew up in Texas. What can someone hate on about Peyton? He is got game gifted by Buddha, not to mention Daddy Arch, and he says hes a to be a humble guy. Every time somebody mentions his awesome records he sometime says something to the liking of I just feel humbled to be mentioned in the same breath as those players.The Holy Ones 31 The Baby Horses 28

    Drucilla Kopacz

    February 12, 2010 at 12:53 am

  5. The 3 most important points to take a look at: high fever (higher than 101 F) is typical of influenza of any strain and should be cautioned as a red flag; 2) length for the 2 drugs we have that can lessen the time and severity of flu symptoms to be helpful, you must start immediately once the symptoms begin, so dont wait in calling your insurance if you have reason to believe you may have the flu, swine or otherwise; finally, most respiratory illnesses are NOT influenza, as pointed out, but it can be tricky to differentiate. Call your doctor if youre not sure.

    Damian Labreck

    February 12, 2010 at 1:51 pm

  6. Apatow movies aren’t all about the raunch – not sure how you come to that idea. His best directorial film, Knocked Up, has a a few filthy times, but its theme of a Peter Pan type eventually having to grow up and accept responsibility for his decisions is a good message, and it was the sparse movie that most male and female could enjoy together, it’s not a chick-flick nor guy-flick. Alot of his other movies treads similar ground. I love raunch, and I want there were more of it out there – the world needs more teenage sex comedies in these depressing times

    Rosaria Anness

    February 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm


Leave a Reply

