Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

The Michael Vick Project

with one comment

Seeing Michael Vick on The Michael Vick Project all I could think about is that he looks like an athlete. More than anything else that’s what I think whenever I see him. That’s what I thought the first time I saw him play in college. More than his throwing arm or speed, I remember thinking athlete instead of football player.

He also appeared to be more mature than I remember him in the past. I know it is a scripted TV show but he spoke clearly and was looking directly into the camera. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I really liked the premiere episode of the show. It’s obvious that his family plays a major role in his life, and I was pleasantly surprised by Marcus. I remember hearing about his troubles while he was at Virginia Tech, but he also appears to have grown up.

What struck me most about the show was how dependent his family had become on him to support them financially. And that seems to have played a role into the arrogance he had in thinking that he was untouchable. How could it not, though? If you’re the man that everyone’s coming to for stuff, how does that not affect you? It’s interesting because in the opening episode the talk was about all the materialistic things they were able to do because of his contract.

I know a lot of people will never forgive him or look at him the same way they did before the dogfighting scandal, but when I see him, I still think athlete. In all honestly, the dogfighting fiasco didn’t change my opinion about himl. (My opinion changed after I heard the Ron Mexico story.) I was more surprised at other people’s reactions to it more than anything else. I still refuse to believe that people were honestly as blind as they claimed to be to it. It’s never been a part of my life but I watch TV and see videos. It may not be explicitly glorified but seeing dogs in cement kennels, what’s the logical conclusion to that?

This is what comes to mind whenever I think about Vick:

Written by rachel

February 2, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Posted in TV

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Usually, I am not very keen on politics on the whole – however, at times we all have to pay attention. There are a few very good issues raised here, and I am taking notice – I am grateful to you.

    Erasmo Nault

    February 9, 2010 at 1:57 pm


Leave a Reply

