Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Grammys 2010

leave a comment »

The best part about having a blog is that I can vent by sending my thoughts out into cyberspace. I’m not sure that I’d ever want my thoughts to come back to me but I’ll deal with that when I have to.

Last night was the first time in quite awhile that I actually knew when an award show was going to be on tv. I totally spaced on the Golden Globes and appear no worse the wear for it. I should have skipped the Grammys as well.

Michael Jackson Tribute
This was probably the worst tribute ever done, and that includes any singing or dancing I have done in the past (and will repeat in the future) while reminiscing and re-living the sound of the King of Pop. It was not only the oddest group of people thrown together – I don’t remember who everyone was but Smokey Robinson was the only person who seemed appropriate in the group – and 3D is cool if you’re in an IMAX theater but not when it’s a live TV show. Since I just watched This Is It, I think they should’ve had MJ’s backup vocalists singing with the This Is It dancers performing. It may not be an idea with “star” power but when you’re honoring a star like Michael Jackson, it should be about him, not anyone else.

My favorite performances of the night were:

Pink – she blew everyone out of the water. It was a beautiful song and an amazing performance.

Green Day – I thought it would be weird to see them performing with the cast of American Idiot, but it was actually really, really cool.

Bon Jovi – For their first time on the Grammys I’m not sure what I think about their performance. They sang a medley of We Weren’t Born to Follow, Who Says You Can’t Go Home, and the fan-voted Living On A Prayer. It felt like the Grammys were trying to make up for 20 years of not having the boys on with this odd medley of songs. I have no idea why they included Who Says You Can’t Go Home or why they invited Jennifer Nettles back to sing with them. She has a horrendous voice that’s screechy and whiny. The worst part was that she didn’t leave after announcing that Living On A Prayer had won. She stayed up there to butcher that song, too. I will forever stand by that Keith Urban was the much better duet partner for Who Says You Can’t Go Home and that having him on the Grammy stage with the boys would’ve been a much better performance.

My other favorites were: Zac Brown Band, Dave Matthews Band, Andrea Bocelli, Eminem (Black Eyed Peas were good but not anything different from what I’ve seen of them on other shows. Eminem was part of a Drake song, but was much better than Drake, whoever he is.)

WTF Moments:

Lady Gaga – I just don’t get her. I’ve seen some youtube videos of Lady Gaga as Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta, and think she is much better that way. Maybe it’s because I like plain but her costumes and facial expressions just don’t do anything for me.

Beyonce – From her performance to her winning Grammys, I don’t understand her appeal. She likes to wear nothing and dance provocatively but I don’t think that deserves an award. In my opinion, it’s proof of how far the Grammys, and other award shows, have fallen.

Taylor Swift and Stevie Nicks – For her age, I think Taylor Swift is great. I liked one of her songs (I don’t know the name of the song, but she sang it a lot and it grew on me) and I think her music fits her age. She’s kind of like the anti-Beyonce, embracing her youth and having fun being young. However, I’m not sure that she’s hit a note during her award show appearances. But maybe that’s her appeal. She writes songs for kids her age and her stage presence is really like that of a kid who just grabs a guitar and runs on stage to sing, sounding raw but having a lot of enthusiasm. I’m still not sure why Stevie Nicks agreed to sing with her, though. It was painful watching Stevie sing one of Taylor’s songs. Stevie should’ve sang with Bon Jovi instead. Now that would’ve been a great duet!

Santana and John Legend presented Album of the Year together, apparently celebrate the 10 year anniversary of Smooth, according to Rob’s tweet. (I know I hate when journalists use Twitter as a source, but I’m not a journalist, just a music fan who’s venting so I think it’s ok if I use it.) I just think that’s weird. Have Santana and John Legend even cut a song together? Maybe it’s something that’s in the works.

Favorite Presenters:
Keith Urban
Chris O’Donnell
Ricky Martin

I also really liked the acceptance speech from Kings of Leon. There was something in there about being drunk and buying shots. Too bad I wasn’t in LA last night!

Written by rachel

February 1, 2010 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

