Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Thoughts for the New Year

leave a comment »

Randy Johnson – There’s a lot of emotion, so I’ll say that I’m glad that I had the opportunity to see Randy in a Mariner uniform.  My favorite Randy Johnson moment was the 2001 World Series when he started game 6 and then came back to close game 7.  That’s how I’ll always remember him.

Boise State – Both Boise State and TCU may have been screwed over by the BCS selection committee, but they put on a great game.  Congrats to Boise State for exacting their revenge and beating TCU.  The best part of the game was having Prosser included in the commentary during the night.

Andre Dawson – I don’t care what anyone says; it made my day when I heard he was voted into the Hall of Fame.  I loved watching him play at Wrigley.

Ronny Turiaf – I just found youtube videos of him labeled One of the Greatest Zags Ever and I’m not sure I can think of a more appropriate title.  The latest youtube video of him features Ronny as a movie critic! Check out Movie Time with Ronny:  

Gonzaga at Portland – I’m getting really excited to head down to Portland for the Gonzaga game.  We don’t have tickets so I thought I’d take a peek and see what they are going for online.  What I found was a pair of tickets for $300 per ticket.  I love my Zags and feel like I’m a loyal alum but that price is ridiculous.  It may be a big game but it’s still a regular season conference game. 

American Cancer Society – Last night I attended a Tech Talk meeting for the ACS, and my greatest contribution was inviting Alex.  I definitely don’t have the insight to talk about building anything from a tech perspective.  What I was really surprised at was the lack of corporate support for the More Birthdays iPhone App.  I was really lost in the meeting until I heard how they were trying to promote the app while without the ability to officially reach their target audience.  I’m still in shock over that.

The Situation on SportsNation – Really?  A character from the Jersey Shore is a special guest on an ESPN show?  I guess I shouldn’t be surprised since SportsNation is horrendous.  When I first heard about it, I was leery because I’ve never been much of a Colin Cowherd fan.  I listen to him and think blowhard not SportsNation.  What really put the show over-the-top was seeing the bozo co-host, Michelle.  She’s awful.  Colin’s awful.  Together they have created one of the worst shows to ever grace TV.  It’s even worse than Cold Pizza, and I didn’t think anything could be worse than that!

Colt McCoy – Tough luck for Colt to be hurt so early in the game.  Texas will recover and I’m sure have other shots at the National title, but Colt’s never going to have another chance to play for the title.

My New Year’s Resolution – I have a motto for 2010, now I have a goal.  I want to learn about sports betting.  I hear the odds all the time but have no idea what they mean.  Hopefully by the end of the year, I will.

Leave a Reply

