Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

My Year In Review

leave a comment »

This really was the year of change for me.

On the day I had been waiting for, I received news that I had not been expecting.  As President Obama was being sworn into office, I was packing my cubicle.  After eight and a half years, I was no longer needed.  I left the building for the last time with an odd feeling.  I was excited for the future of my country, but very unsure about my own future.  As it turns out, we’ve fared about the same.

There have been ups and downs throughout the year, but relatively no change since January 20, 2009.  We’ve tried to find our way but with so many directions to go in, haven’t made as much progress as was originally anticipated.  The year is ending, not on any real high or low, it’s merely ending. What has sustained us throughout this year is that we have hoped that something better is just around the corner.  2010 is our next corner, and there is apprehension but hope still remains. 

For the most part, my days have been full.  Doing what, I’m not sure, but I’ve managed to stay busy, while taking breaks whenever I want them.  (Let’s be honest, when you’re not working, you don’t really need a break.)  I started two new hobbies: one being this blog, which I’m trying to keep up with, but Twitter has made sharing my random thoughts so much easier; and two, I started cooking and baking.  I haven’t advanced too far, but it’s an accomplishment for me to go beyond sandwiches.  The only real hold back is that I bake the same way I cook.  My measurements, along with the ingredients, are “close enough.” Luckily it hasn’t mattered yet, though, it will become more of an obstacle if I move beyond cookies, cupcakes, and cakes.

Listed below are the highlights and lowlights of 2009 for me:

Highlights

  • Watching ESPN/ESPN2 – I’ve loved starting my mornings with Mike & Mike for the past few years.   This year has been even better because I also get to watch 1st & 10, Around the Horn, Jim Rome is Burning, PTI, 30for30, Homecoming…the list is endless!
  • Meeting Keith Urban – I don’t remember much but I got a hug and remembered to smell him!
  • Meeting Bill Simmons – I was much more relaxed when I met Bill, and he seemed like the same guy in person as he is in his columns and podcasts.  Plus he asked about Gonzaga, so I pretty much love him!
  • Paying off my loans – both student and car…big relief having those off my plate!
  • Lori & Juan getting married and having Sebastian.
  • Baby Will
  • Having a summer vacation – I felt like a kid again and it was fabulous!

 Lowlights

  • Not leaving Seattle – I have cabin fever and desperately need an adventure that takes me out of the city!
  • Not only did I not lose weight, I’ve gained weight!  Apparently eating my own cooking has not been a good thing.
  • The realization that the Sonics are gone has finally hit me this year.  I been very angry about them being taken away, but now I’m just sad.  I really miss them.
  • Realizing that I have no lifelong goals or directions.  It’s depressing to know that somewhere along the way, I lost my optimism.

 I have ended 2009 with the oddest dream.  In it was a bathroom stall with a front door to close and lock, but no wall behind me.  There was actually a walk way behind me and no one but me thought it was strange that they could walk past me while I was peeing.  (I had the same thought as you: thank goodness I was just peeing!)  Also included in it, were some Gonzaga basketball players (Bouldin & Raivio), my family (Bax, Josh, Mom), and kids from high school (Derek & Todd, both of whom I rarely ever spoke with).  It’s as though we were at a high school of some sort, walking towards the gymnasium to watch a play.  Bouldin was hitting me, Bax had gotten on the roof & Josh didn’t care, but Mom was crying.  That’s when I detoured to the bathroom, then got back on track to see Derek & Todd playing hoops outside (like it was recess or a Hoopfest game).  I was looking for Bouldin, couldn’t find him, and then woke up.  What does this all mean?  I have no idea. 

Since there are decade lists everywhere here are some memorable moments for me:

  1.  Alan Jackson singing Where Were You (When the World Stopped Turning):  More than anything else this decade has been shaped by the events that happened on 9/11.  For better or worse we were changed, in every way, because of that day.  I don’t think a more touching song was written about what everyone felt when it happened.  (I think Alan’s had a lot of amazing songs this year but I’ll keep this one at the top.)
  2. Gonzaga Basketball:  What else would you expect from me?  The program started the decade on an unbelievable high, and has ended with one of the worst games that I can ever remember watching (the Duke game).  I don’t think one game is a sign of things to come for the rest of the year but my point is that it’s become a program that’s had its highs, lows, and has really learned to how compete and play through it all.  I don’t think anyone knew what was in store for the program when 1999 was coming to an end but it’s been an amazing journey.
  3. Seattle Seahawks: The Seahawks finally broke through with a trip to the Super Bowl in 2006, and even followed that up with making the playoffs the following, falling to the Bears after Robbie Gould’s successful field goal.  Unfortunately, I think they’re playing their worst football of the decade right now.  Nothing is going right and the team looks like they don’t even want to be on the field.  There’s been some good moments but the past couple of years have been included some pretty bad football.
  4. Internet Activity:  I started out this decade barely knowing how to get online, I’m ending it having dabbled in chat rooms; frequented messages boards, ESPN, Myspace, and Facebook; and am learning more about blogs, Twitter, and Googlewave.  It’s not surprising that the internet has blown up, and that you can do almost everything online, but who knew that sites named Craigslist and Twitter would become so popular?  Is there anything that can’t be done online?  I’m beginning to think that I’m too available online.  Maybe 2010 will be the year I go retro and get off line.  (Yeah, I don’t believe that either.)
  5. Me:  Just like with Twitter, this blog satisfies my narcissism.  I moved to Seattle in 1999 as a 21 year old kid and am ending this decade as a 32 year old middle aged woman, even though I still feel pretty young most days.  I touched on this as I approached 30, but I really thought I would be more accomplished at this age.  What I have learned, especially over this past year, is that I can take anything in stride.  Sometimes I do feel overwhelmed and outmatched, but I regroup and regain my perspective.
  6. Michael Jackson:  More than a favorite he was part of my childhood, and his passing was very sad.  Here is one of my favorite MJ songs:
  7. John Stockton:  His HOF speech was really spectacular.  Part 1:   Part 2:
Written by rachel

December 31, 2009 at 5:55 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

