Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Dear Safeway

leave a comment »

Safeway
4732 Brooklyn N.E.
Seattle, WA 98105
206-522-4565
business.ethics@safeway.com

 
October 8, 2009

Dear Safeway Manager:

I went to your store earlier to purchase some cold medicine and a few groceries.  While checking out, the cashier asked me for identification to buy the cold medicine I needed.  Since I mostly just needed cold medicine, I only had my Safeway card and my bank card.  The cashier assessed that I did not look like I was 18, which I agree with completely since I am 32. 

Another Safeway employee came over to “verify” my age and correctly assessed that I was not 18.  However, I was still not able to leave with the cold medicine that I needed.

Upon leaving the store, I was thinking how odd it is that I can look old enough to buy alcohol but not cold medicine.  Your Safeway store lets me purchase alcohol without providing any form of ID.  That’s actually what I like about your store.  It’s the one place where ID isn’t always required.  Until today, when I was sick and needed cold medicine. 

I guess I can just drink the alcohol you let me buy without ID as a substitute for the medicine you will not let me buy.

Sincerely,
Your Former Customer

Written by rachel

October 8, 2009 at 2:53 pm

Leave a Reply

