Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Love Happens

leave a comment »

I had my preconceived notions about this movie.  They revolved less around whether or not I’d like the storyline (I’m easily entertained), but were focused on the accuracy of how Seattle is portrayed.  There’s rain and popular landmarks: Qwest Field, the waterfront, Pike Place Market, the Space Needle, the Fremont Troll, the Monorail, but this movie was mostly filmed in Vancouver BC.  While Vancouver is similar to Seattle, it’s still no substitute for what Seattle has to offer. 

After watching the movie, what struck me as odd is why a Seattle native filmed the locations the way he did.  The views were distorted, there was an odd outdoors scene, and when travel was shown, the landmarks were out of order.

Once I was able to get past the Seattle, or rather lack of Seattle, setting, I really got into the movie.  There wasn’t necessarily an overwhelming performance or even specific scene that changed my feelings about the movie.  All I know is that somewhere in the midst of this story, I became invested in seeing Burke Ryan work through his grief.

That’s what this movie is really about.  It’s not that Love Happens, but rather that grief and mourning happen.  It’s about how we can help others without considering what we need help with.  It’s about opening up to the pain so that we can move through it.  It’s about us holding onto pain when it’s trying to set us free.

This movie really moved me in ways that I wasn’t expecting.  The grief and the mourning and the not letting go, they make up the life I lead.  They not only influence me, they define me.  I can relate to not wanting to let go because by doing so, you are letting go of the only part of yourself that you know. 

This is not the time that I pledge to set myself free.  This is my first step of acknowledging that I know what defines me.  I know how I got to be who I am today and I know who I want to be in the end.  What I don’t know is how I’ll get there.  In my story, life happens.

Written by rachel

September 20, 2009 at 10:10 pm

Posted in Movies

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

