Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Alan Jackson: Not nominated for a 2009 CMA Award

with one comment

I’ve been a little behind in my country music news but finally took a moment to look up the nominees for this year’s CMAs. 

I am honestly in shock right now.  Alan Jackson did not receive a single nomination.  I’m not sure if his cd Good Time is eligibile, but his song Sissy’s Song is.  I’m not even going to pretend to be unbiased.  Alan is one of my favorite singers from any genre of music and that a song so beautifully written and performed could be excluded is a shame.  I wonder if he was a new artist, would this song have been ignored?  Alan is Alan, and as a fan, I have come to expect nothing less than amazing from him.  Is it possible that the country music industry feels the same?  Is Alan just not enough any more? 

I say this out of frustration.  His cd Like Red on A Rose was amazing and also ignored by award shows.  I understand that it wasn’t a traditional country music cd, but he released it to country music.  He has been a beacon for old and new country music fans alike; where his music is, we will follow: from country to gospel to something a little different and back to country again.

The first Alan Jackson song I ever heard was Tonight I Climbed the Wall.  I fell in love instantly.  He was one of the first concerts I ever went to and it set the bar for every concert since.  He was amazing live.  The easy way out is to catagorize him as someone ina big hat and cowboy boots that stands there and plays his songs.  While that is true, he also does so much more.  He connects with his audience and engages them in ways you never knew were even possible.  Can you imagine someone working a crowd while playing a little guitar and singing?  I can because I saw Alan Jackson live.

I will state for the record that I do not think that Alan should be nominated based on what he’s achieved in the past.  I’m upset because I think opinions of his past success have overshadowed his current music when they shouldn’t.  Hopefully the industry will hear the music on his next cd.  I know I will.

Written by rachel

September 18, 2009 at 12:10 am

Posted in Concerts

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.


Leave a Reply

