Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

Fortune Cookie Wisdom

leave a comment »

You shall attain great wisdom with each passing year.

This is my fortune, according to my cookie, and it got me thinking about what I have learned over my lifetime. 

When I was 3, I knew I wanted to be 6.
When I was 5, I knew that my dad had moved out.
When I was 6, I knew that my parents were divorced, I had a new best friend, and that more than anything in the world, I wanted to be 9.
When I was 7, I wanted my two front teeth to grow in.  I missed them and didn’t look so hot without them.
When I was 9, I wanted to be like my Aunt Lisa.  I also wanted to be 16 so I could drive.
When I was 10, I learned what devastation was.  To this day, I don’t think I’ll go through anything worse.
When I was 12, I beat a boy during the physical fitness tests.  Everyone was shocked.
When I was 13, three years felt like eternity.
When I was 14, I wanted to become a cheerleader.  To this day, I don’t think that I have ever wanted anything more.
When I was 15, I really wanted to drive.
When I was 16, I didn’t want to be my brother’s chauffeur.
When I was 17, I wanted to be in college.
When I was 18, 19, 20, I wanted to be 21 and out of college.
When I was 21 and out of college, I wanted a job and independence.

Now that I’m 31, I think more about what I am not than what I am.  Where’s the great wisdom in that?

Written by rachel

May 20, 2009 at 8:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

