Slow Turning

Like the song says, you can learn to live with love or without it

High School

with one comment

I’m sitting here watching the DVD Hometown Legacy of my high school football team, and it is bringing back a lot of memories.  While I have no desire to re-live my high school days, it’s been nice to remember how much fun it was!  It’s also funny to see people I haven’t seen in years.  The little kids I remember running around on the sidelines are the star football players, and the boys who used to pester me while we were growing up are now the coaches!  What comes to mind is that the more things change, the more they stay the same.

 

Sometimes it really does seem just like yesterday I was driving into the high school parking lot, walking the hallways, and dreaming about going to college.  Then I watch a show like America’s Best Dance Crew, doing the Whack Track Challenge.  The whack tracks?  The music I listened to growing up!  The Right Stuff was the song that played in the background to my middle school dreams.  2 Legit 2 Quit was the soundtrack for my high school football team going to state.  The memories are so vivid of the pep assemblies with Joe & Jaime down on the floor doing Mustangs are 2 Legit 2 Quit.

 

The shots of my hometown are incredible.  They’ve made it look like a dream.   While it will always be home, it’s pictured quite differently in my mind.  I remember fighting with my brother, our friends taking our sides, and spending hours and hours outside in the summer time.  There were hours down at the pool, and if my brother was home sick or out of town, I spent the whole time having to answer the question, “Where’s your brother?” 

 

Sometimes I wonder why I never wanted to live in a small town as an adult.  I think I like the anonymity of a city.  There’s definitely a down side when everyone knows everyone.  I think it’s interesting that I chose a city that really is like a small town.  Most people have lived here their whole lives and will know at least one person when they’re walking down the street.  I think there’s a part of me that likes the community of a small town, but I like having enough strangers around to blend in when I don’t want attention.

 

I guess this wasn’t really about high school.  It was just remembering a few moments and how they tie into where I am today.

Written by rachel

February 7, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I’m sitting here watching the DVD Hometown Legacy of my high school football team, and it is bringing back a lot of memories. While I have no desire to re-live my high school days, it’s been nice to remember how much fun it was! …Read More […]


Leave a Reply

